Unfancied “crackers” bag Tollygunge Club Bridge Tournament

Unfancied “crackers” bag Tollygunge Club Bridge Tournament

Agency News

Kolkata, Sep 30 : Unfancied “Crackers” represented by Vijayanand Singh, Pradeep Anand Singh,Pulak Garga and C P Agarwal from Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, won the team event of the three-day Tollygunge Club 7th Invitational Bridge Tournament.

The unexpected winners collected a total of 102.71 International Match Points (IMP) in the round robin super league which concluded champions at the Club complex here.
They became richer by Rs.80,000. 00 which was the purse for the champions, which concluded last night, and winners’ trophy.

The “ Crackers “ were followed by the last two years’ champions “Bangur Cement” comprised of S K Aienger, Debashish Roy, R Venkatraman and Suman Sengupta , who topped the Swiss League stage of the meet could not live up to the expectation in the Super League and remained contended with the second position with 87.23 IMP. Sarthak Behuria’s team finished third with 83.19 IMP.

The title for the pairs event went to Ravi Saberwal and O P Choudhury duo garnering 309.8 points. They were followed by the pairs Jaggy Sivdasani-Alok Daga and Vishal Marah-Devanshu Dutta who took the second and third position with 269.8 and 265.9 points respectively.

“Bangur Cement” with former internationals in their fold ,were off-colour this morning at the very first round against team DKS. They put up some fine show in the later stage including against “Crackers”. But that was not enough as the “Crackers” maintained a steady form in bagging more points from most of the seven-round Super League.

Following are results:
Team Events : 1. Crackers ( 102.71 ), Bangur Cement ( 87.23 ), 3. Sarthak Behuria (83.19 ), 4. Ajay Bagaria’s Team( 78.66 ) 5. M Giri’s IV (73.67 . 6. Spartans ( 69.25), 7. DKS (48.05), 8. Tolly Bridgers (33.91).

Pairs Event: 1. Ravi Saberwal & O P Chowdhury ( 589) 2. Jaggi Sivdasani & Alok Daga ( 540.6), 3. Vishal Marah & Devanshu Dutta ( 532.1), 4. Veena Thapar & Bhupa Sud (525.8), 5. Verghese Jacob & Ajoy Deshpande (521.7) 6. Gopika Tandon & Arun Jain (580.5), 7. Col Lalit Mohan & Genera Gossain ( 516.9), 8.Mukesh Shivdasani & Col Saberwal ( 509.4), 9. Brig S K Agarwal & Reeza John ( 506.2), 10. Sashi Nagpal & S R Dutt (504).

Tollygunge Club President Dr. Ranen Roy distributed the prizes and trophies in presence of Club CEO & Managing Member Anil Mukherjee. The Club also donated a lump sum amount to the city based Indian Institute of Cerebral Palsy.(UNI)