Sourav Ganguly re-elected CAB President Unopposed

Sourav Ganguly re-elected CAB President Unopposed

Agency News

Kolkata, Sep 27 : Sourav Ganguly has been re-elected the Cricket Association of Bengal's president unopposed, his second successive tenure since 2015, ahead of the CAB's 85th AGM on Saturday.

Besides him, his five-member panel was also declared winners uncontested with the announcement of CAB appointed electoral officer Susanta Ranjan Upadhaya to this effect. Former India skipper Ganguly, however, will remain the CAB's president until July 2020 before entering a ‘cooling off period’ as per the BCCI constitution. He will have to undergo the mandatory three-year- cooling off period after completing six years in office at a go in 2020.

This will be Ganguly's second term at the CAB's top post when he became president after the demise of then topman Jagmohan Dalmiya. Before elevating to the top post in 2015, Ganguly was the joint-secretary in 2014.

Dalmiya’s son Avishek has been elected uncontested to the post of secretary from the joint secretary’s post, while Debabrata Das of Town Club will be lone joint secretary.
Mr Upadhaya said, “I, Electoral Officer of The Cricket Association of Bengal do hereby declare and certify that the following persons have stood uncontested to the following Posts.”

The office-bearers: Sourav Ganguly (president), Naresh Ojha (vice-president), Avishek Dalmiya (secretary), Debabrata Das (joint secretary) and Debasish Ganguly (treasurer).

Apex council: Ardhendu Kumar Ghosh, Rajib Ghosh, Samrat Bhowmick, Sanjoy Dutta, Subrata Saha, Goutam Goswami, Joydeep Kolay, Mintu Das, Numazar Mehta, Prabir Chakrabarty, and Susanta Banerjee. (UNI)