Sri Lanka to tour India for T20I series in Jan after Zimbabwe’s suspension

Sri Lanka to tour India for T20I series in Jan after Zimbabwe’s suspension

Agency News

Mumbai, Sep 25: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the Sri Lanka Cricket on Wednesday announced the schedule for the forthcoming Sri Lanka's tour of India, during the month of January, 2020.

Sri Lanka will play a three-match T20I series against India, BCCI's official website said in a statement.

In the wake of Zimbabwe's suspension by ICC, the BCCI invited Sri Lanka to participate in the three-match series. Sri Lanka Cricket has confirmed their participation.
The first T20I would take place on January 5 at Guwahati, while the second match would be played on January 7 in Indore. Pune would host the final match on January 10.

Earlier, the ICC suspended Zimbabwe Cricket on July 18 with immediate effect, saying that the full member had failed to prevent government intervention in the administration of sport in the country. The decision was taken at the ICC Annual Conference in London.

'The ICC Board unanimously decided that the Full Member had failed to fulfill their obligation to provide a process for free and democratic elections and to ensure that there is no government interference in its administration for cricket,' ICC had said in a statement.

Zimbabwe Cricket will not receive ICC funding and the country's teams will not be allowed to participate in ICC events, until the suspension is lifted. (UNI)