Manipur clinch 25th Senior Women’s National Football Championship

Manipur clinch 25th Senior Women’s National Football Championship

Agency News

Pasighat, Sep 24: Defending champion Manipur on Tuesday clinched the title of the Senior Women's National Football Championship for the 20th time.

In a much anticipated final of the 25th Senior Women's National Football Championship-2019 played on Tuesday at College of Horticulture and Forestry (CHF) general ground here in East Siang district of Arunachal Pradesh , Manipur defeated Railways by 1-0 to clinch to become the national champions.

The first half witnessed no goals from the either side. Both the teams got good opportunities but failed to convert into goal.

The winning goal for the champions came in the 67th minute of the match when N Bala Devi netted a beautiful goal. Despite a neck to battle through out the match, Railways could not score any goal.

Elangbam Panthoi Chanu of Manipur won the best goalkeeper of the tournament award. Bala Devi who netted total 21 goals in the championship was adjudged highest scorer while Sanju of Railways , the Most Valuable Player of the tournament award.

Arunachal East MP Tapir Gao, Sports and Youth Affairs Minister Mama Natung, Health Minister Alo Libang, Arunachal Pradesh Football Association (APFA) secretary Kipa Ajay , and other dignitaries were also present.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Pema Khandu has congratulated Manipur for clinching the title for 20th time.

"Congratulations team #Manipur. A dominant force in women’s football, this is Manipur’s 20th title. A keenly contested match today in Pasighat where Railways lost the match by 0-1. Arunachal is proud to have hosted the 25th Senior Women’s National Football Championship," he tweeted. (UNI)