Indian Oil Servo Surjit Hockey starts on Oct 10

Indian Oil Servo Surjit Hockey starts on Oct 10

Agency News

Jalandhar, Sep 20: India's prestigious 36th edition of the Indian Oil Servo Surjit Hockey Tournament will be played at the Olympian Surjit Singh Hockey Stadium from October 10 to 19.

Presiding over a meeting of Surjit Hockey Society, Deputy Commissioner Varinder Kumar Sharma, who is also president of the society said that the tournament is organized every year by society.

He said the Indian Oil Corporation Limited will be the main title sponsor of the tournament.

Mr Sharma said the 16 teams, including the Punjab National Bank; Indian Navy Mumbai; Army XI; Bharat Petroleum; Oil & Natural Gas Commission, Dehradun; Indian Air Force, Delhi; Punjab and Sind Bank; Indian Railways, Delhi; Punjab Police, Air India, Mumbai; Indian Oil, Mumbai; Namdhari; RCF Kapurthala; BSF; CRPF, Delhi and CAG, Delhi, will take part.

He added that the champion of men section will get a cash award of Rs 5.50 lakh, while the Runners up will be awarded a cash award of Rs 2.51 lakh.

He said that this year, Surjit Hockey Society has also decided to give an Alto car, along with other prizes like Motorcycles, TV and Refrigerators to the spectators, who will come to witness the Surjit Hockey matches, through draw system.

He said the Surjit Hockey Society was playing a vanguard role for grooming the young players and told that this society has produced several players who have proved their mettle in national and international events.

The Deputy Commissioner further said that society was further making every effort to channelise the unbounded energy of youth in a positive manner, especially in the field of sports. Mr Sharma said the society has laid the foundation of a great movement, aimed at the revival of the national game, by imparting world-class training to youth.

He said to commemorate the 550th Parkash Purab of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji, the Hockey Society will distribute 550 Hockey Kits among the young players.

Those present on the occasion included DCP Amrik Singh Powar, Lakhwinder Pal Singh Khaira, LR Nayyar, Surinder Singh Bhapa, Captain Inderjeet Singh Dhami, NK Aggarwal, KS Mathru, Gurinder Singh Sangha, Gurpreet Singh, SS Jolly and NP Singh. (UNI)