CoA extends BCCI state body elections deadline by two weeks

CoA extends BCCI state body elections deadline by two weeks

Agency News

Mumbai, Sep 6: The Supreme Court appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) on Friday extended the deadline for the completion of elections for the BCCI's state associations from September 14 to 28.

The committee led by Vinod Rai extended the date line after a meeting here at the BCCI headquarters. The earlier deadline for these polls was September 14.

In a statement, COA said, "The date for BCCI election remains unaltered. The BCCI elections shall take place on October 22 2019; The deadline for completion of elections of state associations is extended from September 14-28. No further extensions will be feasible beyond September 28, 2019 since the notice of AGM for BCCI elections has to be issued 21 days prior to October 22 which is September 30, 2019. The State Association are required to send the names of their representatives to the BCCI for the BCCI election on September 28.

"All state associations who have not already (a) submitted their amended constitutions for approval to the Committee of Administrators; and/or (b) appointed electoral officer for conducting the elections; and/or (c) issued the notice for conduct of elections, are required to complete all of the aforesaid on or before 12th September 2019," the statement further added.

However, the CoA clearly said that no further requests for extension of time will be entertained.

''The CoA will neither take cognizance of any request for the extension of time from state associations or their electoral officers who do not complete all of (the provisions) before the deadline of September 12 nor entertain any request to vet the constitution or amended version thereof submitted beyond the said deadline,'' the CoA said.

According to CoA, it has been receiving requests for extension of deadline for completion of state association elections over the last few days.

The CoA also mentioned that the date for BCCI elections will remain unchanged and will take place on October 22. (UNI)