Bangladesh lift Subroto Cup U-17 Girls title for consecutive 3rd year

Bangladesh lift Subroto Cup U-17 Girls title for consecutive 3rd year

Agency News

New Delhi, Sep 6: Defending champions Bangladesh Krida Shiksha Prothishtan beat Nilmani English School, Manipur by 4-0 in the finals to lift the Subroto Cup U-17 Girls title here at the Ambedkar Stadium on Friday.

In the first half, the game started with Bangladesh Krida Shiksha Prothishtan (BKSP) enjoying the majority of possession.

Aklima scored the first goal for Bangladesh with a thunderous strike from inside the box in the 19th minute.

Bangladesh doubled their lead in the 29th minute with a goal from Shirina Akter. Nilmani English School from Manipur failed to make any further impact and the half ended with Bangladesh leading 2-0.

The second half started with Nilmani English School, Manipur trying to take the game to BKSP but they didn’t have much success.

Bangladesh held their ground and defended their goal by maintaining a very strong formation at the back. In the 55th minute, Sapna Rani’s persistence paid off as she bulldozed down the left wing, leaving the Manipuri defence at bay to finally find the net from five yards out for BKSP.

Soon after, Aklima Akter scored her second goal as she found the back of the net in the 58th minute. At the end, BKSP from Bangladesh closed the match 4-0, defending their title successfully.

BKSP, Bangladesh was given a prize money of Rs 4,00,000 along with 'Winners trophy' while Nilmani English School, Manipur took home RS 2,50,000 and 'Runner's Up' trophy.

Apart from team awards, individual awards were also given. Best Goalkeeper award (Rs 50,000) was given to Surudhani Kisku, BKSP, Bangladesh while Afeida Khandaker of BKSP, Bangladesh received the Best Player award (Rs 50,000).

Jaya Chakma, BKSP, Bangladesh was awarded as the Best Coach (Rs 15,000), Nilmani English School, Manipur was declared Most Contributing School for Football (RS 25,000) while Fair play Award (Rs 50,000) went to Dhirubhai Ambani International School, Mumbai. (UNI)