Men’s from North 24 Parganas win title

Men’s from North 24 Parganas win title

Agency News

Kolkata, Aug 26 : Men from North 24 Parganas (N24P) and women from Dakshin (South) Kolkata (DK) established their supremacy in the 1st Bengal State Table Tennis Championships, which ended on Sunday night.

While North 24 Parganas defeated Howrah in men’s team final, Dakshin Kolkata beat North 24 Parganas in women’s event. Top-rated women players from Bengal like Ayhika Mukherjee, Kritwika Sinha Roy and Moushumi Paul faced each other in the women’s tables at Ramgarh Pragati Sangha hall.

While the women’s singles champion in recent Commonwealth TT Ayihika Mukherjee played for N24P, the gold winner in women’s doubles Kritwika Sinha Roy and silver medalist in Commonwealth TT Moushumi Paul represented Dakshin Kolkata. Ayhika defeated Moushumi in the first set by 11-8, 11-4, 9-11, 8-11, 11-6. Kritwika then took revenge immediately beating Moumita Dutta of N24P in a tough contested set by 11-3, 11-7, 9-11, 5-11, 11-6.

Increasing the lead, Rupsha Bhattacharya of DK won against Kaushani Nath by 11-5, 9-11, 13-11, 11-9. Kritwika again appeared on the board to confirm the championship against Ayhika and to achieve an upset result. The highest-rated paddler of the competition was hounded out by Kritwika 11-5, 4-11, 13-11, 11-5 to seal the victory.
After the match, Kritwika said, “It’s a great satisfaction to make the team succeed.” About her upset against Ayhika, she said, “we have been playing together since our childhood. So we know each other well. Defeating her was not an easy job. I am happy to do that. But winning for the team is more satisfactory.” Men’s team final between North 24 Pargana (N24P) and Howrah was full of excitement. Though Howrah started with a win, North 24 Pargana won the title ultimately by 3-1. Anirban Ghosh won the first game for Howrah against Ronit Bhanja by 11-8, 11-6, 8-11, 13-11.

Arjun Ghosh equalized against Anirban Nandi by winning a tough match by 7-11, 3-11, 11-2, 11-9, 11-6. In the third game, Aniket Sen Chowdhury of N24P beat Tamal Ballav by 11-7, 11-9, 11-9 to go ahead by 2-1. Anirban, who won the first game for Howrah, had the opportunity to equalize. But after a tough fight, Arjun defeated him by 11-3, 13-11, 8-11, 13-11.

Arjun said after the success, “We could not win the championship last year. That’s why it was a challenge for us this year. We are happy to achieve this end.” (UNI)