ICC backs umpire Kumar Dharmasena

ICC backs umpire Kumar Dharmasena

Agency News

Dubai, Jul 27 : The International Cricket Council (ICC) has come out in support of umpire Kumar Dharmasena's decision to award England Six runs on an overthrow in the World Cup 2019 final.

In their first public statement of the incident, the governing body insisted the 'right process' was followed.

"They (on-field umpires) had to make a judgement call on the day as to whether the batsmen had crossed when the throw was released. After everything that went on during that delivery, they got together over their comms system and made their decision. They certainly followed the right process when making the decision," ICC’s general manager of cricket, Geoff Allardice, was quoted as saying by ESPNCricinfo.
"They were aware of the law when they made the judgment about whether the batsmen had crossed or not at the time. The playing conditions don't allow them to refer to such a decision to a third umpire. The match referee cannot intervene when the umpires on the field have to make a judgement call like that," he said.
"The consistent view has been that the World Cup final needs a winner and a Super Over was in the playing conditions to decide a tied Final in each of the last three World Cups (2011, 2015 and 2019)."

The two on-field umpires, Kumar Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus, had awarded six runs, instead of five, to an overthrow from Martin Guptill in the 50th over during England’s run chase.

An overthrow from Martin Guptill struck Ben Stokes' bat on the wicket-keeper's end and raced down for a boundary when the all-rounder was trying to complete a run. Umpire Kumar Dharmasena after consulting with the other on-field umpire, awarded England 6 runs which brought down the equation dramatically as the hosts, who needed nine runs off three balls, required only Three runs from the final two balls.
However, Dharmasena himself admitted that it was a mistake on his part to give England 6 runs which proved decisive towards the end as the game ended in a tie. The Sri Lankan umpire termed it a judgement error but added that he didn't regret his decision.(UNI)