New Zealand win toss, opt to bat against England

New Zealand win toss, opt to bat against England

Agency News

London, Jul 14: New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and opted to bat against England in ICC World Cup Final here at Lord's on Sunday.

Both England and New Zealand have gone with the same playing XI for the World Cup final.
England defeated Australia in the semi-final at Birmingham and set up the title clash with New Zealand who defeated India in the first semi-final at Manchester. Both, England and New Zealand have never won an ODI World Cup. This is England's fourth World Cup final while New Zealand reached their second successive final in a World Cup.

New Zealand had lost to Australia in 2015 in a one-sided title clash while England had entered World Cup finals in 1975, 1987 and 1992 before 2019.
Playing XI
New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, James Neesham, Tom Latham(w), Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson
England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan(c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler(w), Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood