South Africa restrict Lanka at 203

South Africa restrict Lanka at 203

Agency News

Chester-le-Street, Jun 28: South Africa bowlers Dwaine Pretorius 3/25, Chris Morris 3/46 and Rabada 2/36 restricted Sri Lanka at 203 in 49.3 overs in the ICC Cricket World Cup on Friday.
Earlier, South Africa won the toss and opted to bowl put in Sri Lanka to bat.
Lanka openers skipper Dimuth Karunaratne and Kusal Perera scored no runs for the first wicket with South Africa bowler Rabada starting with a bang taking early wicket of skipper for a duck in the very first ball of the first over caught at second slip by du Plessis.
With Karunaratne gone cheaply Kusal Perera and Avishka Fernando kept hopes alive and continued to take the score to 67 run for second wicket as South Africa needed another breakthrough in which they succeeded when Avishka Fernando after chipping 30 off 29 (4 fours) was the second Lankan batsman bowled by Pretorius in 10th over caught by du Plessis at mid off.
Lanka second wicket went down at 67.
With two wickets down Lankan batsman further struggled to score runs against South Africa's disciplined bowling kept Lanka searching for runs.
With Fernando gone Kusal Perera and Kusal Mendis could add only 5 runs for 3rd wicket while Kusal who was looking well settled at the crease was another next in line with another big blow for Lanka when Pretorius bagged his second wicket in 12th over.
Lanka lost its third wicket at 72. Perera contributed 30 off 34 ( 4 fours).
Then came another partnership of 28 runs for the fourth wicket between Angelo Mathews and Kusal Mendis, but Angelo was the next victim of Morris in 22nd over as Lanka's fourth wicket fell at 100. Angelo 11 came off in 29 balls ( 1 four).
Kusal Mendis became the third victim of Pretorius in 28th over after scoring 23 off 51 ( 2 fours).
The fall of wickets further continued in form of Dhananjaya de Silva bowled by Duminy in 37th over 24 off 41 ( 2 fours), Jeevan Mendis bowled Morris in 40th over 18 off 46 ( 1 four, 1 six).
Phehlukwayo took 8th wicket of Thisara Perera in 46th over when caught at deep square by Rabada at 21 off 25.
Sri Lanka lost their last two wickets in 49th and 50th over first of Udana caught and bowled by Rabada at 17 off 32 (1 fours) and lastly of Malinga by Morris at 4 off 2 balls ( 1 four).
Dwaine Pretorius 3/25, Chris Morris 3/46, Rabada 2/36, Andile Phehlukwayo 1/38, JP Duminy 1/15 were the wicket takers for Proteas. (UNI)