New Zealand win toss, opt to bat against Pakistan

New Zealand win toss, opt to bat against Pakistan

Agency News

Birmingham, Jun 26 : New Zealand won the toss and opted to bat against Pakistan in a World Cup match here at Edgbaston on Wednesday.

The toss was delayed by one hour due to wet outfield, however no overs were lost.
Both Pakistan and New Zealand are unchanged for this match.  Pakistan have faced several ups and downs in World Cup 2019 so far and have five points from six games with one match against Sri Lanka being washed out.

They will have to win all the remaining matches and will also have to keep an eye on other matches to seal the semi-final berth. On the other hand, New Zealand have continued their golden run in World Cup 2019 and are on the verge of becoming the second team after Australia became the first team to qualify in semi-finals. A win over Pakistan will send them into the knockout.

Playing XI:
Pakistan- Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Haris Sohail, Sarfaraz Ahmed(w/c), Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Shaheen Afridi

New Zealand- Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham(w), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult