Shikhar Dhawan ruled out of WC

Shikhar Dhawan ruled out of WC


The opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan, who was injured on his left thumb during the World Cup 2019 league match with Australia, has been ruled out of the tournament.

The BCCI tweeted on Wednesday: "Following several specialist opinions, he will remain in a cast until the middle of July and therefore will not be available for the remainder of #CWC19."

The left-hander suffered the injury when a rising delivery from Australian fast bowler Pat Cummins hit him awkwardly in the early phase of his match-winning innings of 117 off 109 balls.

Dhawan didn't come out to field after that innings and also missed India's next two group games against New Zealand and Pakistan. Wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant, who was flown to England as a cover for Shikhar Dhawan, has been named his replacement.