SA set to take on NZ in World Cup 

SA set to take on NZ in World Cup 


South Africa will lock horns with New Zealand on Wednesday at Edgbaston in World Cup 2019 league match. The Proteas are set to avenge their semi-final loss at the previous World Cup that saw them once again going down in a knockout game in an ICC tournament.

South Africa had a forgettable start to their World Cup. They lost three consecutive games against England, Bangladesh and India. On the other hand, New Zealand are looking solid  to progress to the knockout stages. Kane Williamson has marshalled his troops well so far and they are yet to lose a game in the ongoing World Cup.

Apart from poor display on the field, South Africa have had to deal with a lot of injuries. Their spearhead Dale Steyn was ruled out of the tournament due to an injury while Lungi Ngidi also had problems with his fitness and missed the games against India and Afghanistan respectively.

Just ahead of the clash against New Zealand, the South African camp can have a sigh of relief as Ngidi was declared fully fit for the match. South Africa will need their bowlers to step up to keep their World Cup hopes alive.

A lot will depend on veteran spinner Imran Tahir. The 40-year-old took two wickets each against England and Bangladesh, before running through Afghanistan. The Proteas have been mostly done in by their batting but they will take heart from the fact that openers Hashim Amla and Quinton de Kock finally clicked in the previous game.

New Zealand have a solid batting unit. Skipper Williamson anchored the side to victory against Bangladesh and Afghanistan while Ross Taylor has also been among the runs but the team will hope for openers Colin Munro and Martin Guptill to start clicking.New Zealand also have two destructive all-rounders in Jimmy Neesham and Colin de Grandhomme in their ranks.


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (wk), Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Tom Blundell.

South Africa: Faf du Plessis (capt), Aiden Markram, Quinton de Kock (wk), Hashim Amla, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, JP Duminy, Dwaine Pretorius, Beuran Hendricks, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi.