Alonso wins Le Mans 24 hour race title

Alonso wins Le Mans 24 hour race title

Agency News

Paris, June 17: Former Formula One racer Fernando Alonso and two partners won the Le Mans 24 hour race title for the second straight year at the expense of a late puncture of teammates' car at the 87th edition of the tournament.

Alonso, along with Sebastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima, cooperated to drive the No. 8 car for their title defense with a lead of 16.972 seconds in LMP1 category of the race starting from 3 pm on Saturday.

Their sister No 7 car, driven by Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez, stayed ahead for most part of the race, while suffering a puncture with around one hour remaining.

The No. 7 Toyota car finished runner-up. "We weren't as fast as car No 7 and we didn't deserve to win on track, but luck was a big factor," Alonso pointed out on Sunday.