Sri Lanka win toss, opt to bowl against Australia

Sri Lanka win toss, opt to bowl against Australia

Agency News

London, Jun 15 : Sri Lanka won the toss and opted to bowl against Australia at the Oval on Saturday.

Sri Lanka made a disastrous start in the World Cup 2019 with a 10-wicket loss to New Zealand after being bowled out for a paltry 137. Sri Lanka then had their tussle with rain in three consecutive matches, out of which they won one against Afghanistan while the other matches against Pakistan and Bangladesh were washed out without a ball being bowled.

On the other hand, defending champions Australia, have been largely unstoppable. They have been placed second with three wins from four games.


Australia Playing XI: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jason Behrendorff, Kane Richardson

Sri Lanka playing XI: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Perera (wk), Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Milinda Siriwardana, Nuwan Pradeep, Lasith Malinga