Hero Intercontinental Cup: Stimac names Anas among 35 probables

Hero Intercontinental Cup: Stimac names Anas among 35 probables

Agency News

New Delhi, June 11: Indian Senior Men’s National Team Coach Igor Stimac has named central defender Anas Edathodika in his list of 35 probables for the preparatory camp for the Hero Intercontinental Cup.

The Blue Tigers will be camping at the Mumbai Football Arena in Mumbai from June 25. Anas Edathodika, who had announced his retirement from International Football after the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019 informed that he had “received a call from Coach Stimac,” after which he “contemplated coming out of International retirement.”

Stimac, who in his second match as Coach of India guided India to their first-ever away win over Thailand in Thailand appreciated Anas’ decision.

“Anas had played a significant role under Constantine, and I welcome his decision to accept my call, and make himself available for the National Team after we spoke,” the Coach expressed.

Referring to the adulation which he earned while playing for the National Team, Anas revealed, "the respect I earned while playing for the National Team is something which has pushed me to challenge myself again.

Anas informed that every player he has spoken to, have rated Stimac very highly. "Every coach has a different philosophy, and approach the game differently. We had some great results before, and now all the boys whom I have spoken to, have lauded coach Stimac heavily,” Anas explained.

The other first-timers in the camp under Coach Stimac include defenders Sarthak Golui, and Narender Gehlot; and midfielders Mandar Rao Desai, Ashique Kuruniyan, and Nikhil Poojary.

The Hero Intercontinental Cup will be held at the EKA Arena in Ahmedabad from July 7-19, 2019. Defending champions India begin their campaign on the opening day against a strong Tajikistan on July 7, with DPR Korea, and Syria being the other two teams in the four-nation competition.

Every team will be playing each other once, with the top two advancing to the final.

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Kamaljit Singh, Vishal Kaith.
Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Nishu Kumar, Rahul Bheke, Salam Ranjan Singh, Sandesh Jhingan, Adil Khan, Anas Edathodika, Anwar Ali (Jr), Sarthak Golui, Subhasish Bose, Narender Gahlot.
Midfielders: Udanta Singh, Jackichand Singh, Brandon Fernandes, Anirudh Thapa, Raynier Fernandes, Pronay Halder, Rowllin Borges, Vinit Rai, Sahal Abdul, Amarjit Singh, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Mandar Rao Desai, Ashique Kuruniyan, Nikhil Poojary, Michael Soosairaj.
Forwards: Balwant Singh, Sunil Chhetri, Jobby Justin, Farukh Choudhary, Manvir Singh. (UNI)