India crush defending champions Australia by 36 runs

India crush defending champions Australia by 36 runs

Agency News

London, Jun 9 : India excelled with bat and ball to crush Australia by 36 runs in the ICC Cricket World Cup at the Oval on Sunday.Shikhar Dhawan 117 off 109 (16 fours), Skipper Kohli 82 off 77 (4 fours, 2 sixes), Rohit Sharma 57 off 70 ( 3 fours, 1 six), all-rounder Hardik Pandya quickfire 48 off 27 (4 fours, 3 sixes), Dhoni 27 off 14 (3 fours, 1six), Bumrah 3/61, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 3/50, and Chahal 2/62 were the guiding force behind India's win against defending champions Australia.

Earlier, India won the toss and elected to bat and put up a target of 353 runs before the opposition team.Australia chasing a huge target 353 runs were bundled out for 316 in 50 overs.Australia openers David Warner and skipper Aaron Finch provided a solid start putting up 61 runs for first wicket.But the first wicket fell 61 in form of Finch run out in the 14th over. Finch 36 off 35 (3 fours and a six).Then Steven Smith came in and along with Warner added 72 run stand for 2nd wicket.

Warner had settled and kept the scoreboard ticking but Australia's second wicket fell at 133 when Chahal took Warner's wicket at 56 off 84 (5 fours).After Warner's exit another 69 runs stand for third wicket was built between Khawaja and Smith. Australia's third wicket went down at 202 when Khawaja was bowled by Bumrah in the 37th over. Khawaja 42 off 39 (4 fours, 1 six).

Khawaja gone Maxwell came in putting 36 runs with Smith for fourth wicket stand.
Smith was the next to go in the 40th over lbw by Kumar when score read 238 while in the same over Stoinis also lost his wicket.Smith 69 off 70 (5 fours, 1 six). Maxwell also played his part and scored quickfire 28 off 14 (5 fours) before losing his wicket in the 41st over to Chahal.Carey remained not out at 55 off 35 (5 fours, 1 six).

Australia's 7th wicket went down at 283 in form of Coulter-Nile in the 45th over then Cummins in 47th when score read 300 and then two wickets fell quickly in the last over of Starc and Zampa for 316/10. Bumrah 3/61, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 3/50, and Chahal 2/62 were the wicket takers for India. (UNI)