New Zealand aim to maintain consistency against jolted Afghanistan

New Zealand aim to maintain consistency against jolted Afghanistan

Agency News

Taunton, Jun 7 : New Zealand, coming fresh after a nervy win against Bangladesh, will aim for an improved batting performance when they take on Afghanistan in their third match of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2019 here on Saturday.
New Zealand, much like they did in 2015, have been building up their success in the tournament with their aggressive but disciplined fast bowling. While Matt Henry is leading the wicket-takers' list, Trent Boult, the No. 2 ranked bowler on the MRF Tyres ICC Bowling Rankings, has made his presence felt.
Adding to this is the deception of Colin de Grandhomme, which has accounted for Virat Kohli, Angelo Mattews and Shakib Al Hasan on this tour so far; also not to forget Mitchell Santner's guile.
The batting though slipped terribly in the second half of the run-chase against Bangladesh, before Santner saw them home. Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor will hope for more support from the middle order against the skilled Afghanistan bowling unit.
Still searching for their first win, Afghanistan will regret the lost opportunity against Sri Lanka, as their batting failed after the bowlers had set it up. While the spin trio lived up to its reputation, the new ball bowlers can ill-afford indiscipline against the aggressive duo of Guptill and Munro.
The batting, barring Najibullah Zadran, has so far seemed to lack the intensity and determination required at the biggest stage.
Things have worsened for the Gulbadin Naib led side, as the explosive wicket-keeper batsman, Mohammad Shahzad, has been ruled out of the tournament due to a knee injury.
Afghanistan: Gulbadin Naib (c), Noor Ali Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah (wk), Asghar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Aftab Alam, Hamid Hassan, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Ikram Ali Khil
New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Tom Blundell (wk), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor. (UNI)