Jayaprakash of TN elected SFI President

Jayaprakash of TN elected SFI President

Agency News

Chennai, May 17: Mr R N Jayaprakash of Tamil Nadu was
on Friday elected as the President of the Swimming Federation
of India (SFI) for a four year term at its Annual General body
Meeting held here.

Mr Jayaprakash, who was hitherto Vice-President of SFI, was the
first person from Tamil Nadu to be elected for the post. Mr Chokshi Mondal D of Gujarat was elected General Secretary, while Mekala Ramakrishna of Telangana was elected Treasurer.

Following are the other office bearers : Vice Presidents : Balraj Sharma (Punjab), Rajiv Sukumaran Nair (Kerala), Kamlesh D Nanavati (Gujarat), Piyush Sharma (Madhya Pradesh), Anil Vyas (Rajasthan).

Joint Secretaries : R B Pandey (Bihar), Ravin Kapoor (UP), Mohan Satish Kumar Karnataka, Anil Khatri (Haryana). All the office bearers were elected unanimously.

Later, talking to reporters, Mr Jayaprakash promised all steps for the development of swimming in the country and said Swimming academies would be started in Tamil Nadu to impart quality training to swimmers on lines of those functioning in Pune and Karnataka.

Stating that Tamil Nadu has a good number of swimming pools,
he said steps would be taken to set up swimming pools across
the country.