A no-hold barred contest on card between host KKR and DC at Eden Gardens

A no-hold barred contest on card between host KKR and DC at Eden Gardens

Agency News

Kolkata, Apr 12 : A no-hold barred contest is on the cards when Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) host Sourav Ganguly's mentored Delhi Capitals (DC) in the return play of the VIVO IPL at picturesque
Eden Gardens on Friday.
Dinesh Karthik led KKR have just conceded their second defeat of IPL-2019 by MS Dhoni led Chennai Super Kings in Tamil Nadu in the previous play and now the Shah Rukh Khan owned
franchise returned home to take on DC, the only other side to have defeated them this year.
The previous away match in Delhi went to the Super over and could have gone either way. Now KKR will be hoping to exact some revenge at their home ground this time with local cheering crowds, who
normally flock over 50,000 at any given time.
The DC,however, just managed to end their losing streak against the hapless Royal Challengers Bangalore. Now they must rise to try and get past one of the strongest sides of the tournament.
With three wins from six matches, DC are not too far behind the rest of the group but they must try and win at least five out of their remaining eight matches to have some hope of qualifying.
Big hitter West Indian Andre Russell, a middle order of KKR batting line, has already won the heart of cricket fans in this edition, wheather their favourite side or the opponents.
Thirty-year-old all rounder continued to have an enviable performance and almost all the occasion
he singlehandedly dragged KKR to either to win or give a good fight against the opponents. As he did against the CSK in the lat game scoring unbeaten 50 out of total 140.
Interestingly his runs come from sixes basically, a fine point in the T20 flood light cricket. He has more sixes than anyone else in the tournament, has a better strike rate than anyone else, and is one of the highest run-getters in the entire IPL. In fact KKR are depending heavily on Andre Russell's
performance both in batting abd bowling.
Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, and Nitish Rana have all played wednre ll in some matches but need to be more consistent going forward.
In bowling KKR have been finding a wicket taker this time.
Harry Gurney started the IPL well but was ineffective in the previous match. Prasiddh Krishna has not been in the wickets this season and the spinners have not had the kind of success they would have liked either. Sunil Narine, Piyush Chawla, and Kuldeep Yadav are the three bowlers that need to be at their best in the upcoming match to be able to get past the strong Delhi batting lineup.
The Delhi also struggling to find its right balance this time.
They are also a side that is filled with match winners but has not been able to get the players to perform to their full potential. Delhi Capitals are worry about the form of strike batter Shikhar Dhawan.
Prithvi Shaw is also an ultra-attacking at the top but often plays too many risky shots and throws away his wicket. Shreyas Iyer is the player that is emerging as the rock in Delhi’s fragile lineup.
Delhi’s bowling attack could do quite well at the Eden Gardens. Kagiso Rabada, Chris Morris, Sandeep Lamichanne, Ishant Sharma, and Axar Patel form a very strong bowling attack. Rahul Tewatia continues to get a chance in the playing eleven and his bowling has not been too
bad but we still think Delhi could find someone else instead of him to bolster their side.
The team winning the toss is likely to want to field first. Both sides have had success chasing and the conditions are not expected to change drastically over the course of 40 overs either.
The pitch at Eden Gardens is excellent for batting. It has some pace and bounce in it for the fast bowlers as well.
The Teams (From):
Kolkata Knight Riders: Dinesh Karthik (capt), Robin Uthappa, Chris Lynn, Shubman Gill, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Sunil Narine, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Nikhil Naik, Joe Denly, Shrikant Mundhe, Nitish Rana, Sandeep Warrier, Prasidh Krishna, Lockie Ferguson, Harry
Gurney, KC Cariappa and Yarra Prithviraj.
Delhi Capitals: Shreyas Iyer(capt), Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant(wk), Colin Ingram, Keemo Paul, Axar Patel, Rahul Tewatia, Amit Mishra, Kagiso Rabada, Ishant Sharma, Hanuma Vihari, Ankush Bains, Harshal Patel, Manjot Kalra, Chris Morris, Sherfane Rutherford, Jalaj Saxena, Sandeep Lamichhane, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Nathu Singh, Bandaru Ayyappa, Colin Munro.
Match starts at 8pm.