With Dhoni rested Rishab to guard wickets; Bhuvneshwar, Rahul may play at Mohali

With Dhoni rested Rishab to guard wickets; Bhuvneshwar, Rahul may play at Mohali

Agency News

Mohali, Mar 10 : With Mahendra Singh Dhoni being rested for the Mohali (March 10) and Delhi (March 13) One-Day series against the ongoing five-ODI series, Rishab Pant will stand behind the stumps in the last two ODI at the IS Bindra PCA Stadium on Sunday.

After losing the third ODI by 32 runs in Ranchi on March 8, Indian captain Virat Kohli is looking for taking an assailable 3-1 lead by winning the Mohali ODI and annex the series ODI series by 4-1 after the Ferozshah Kotla ODI in Delhi on March 13.
Mohammed Shami, who sustained leg injury while playing in the third ODI in Ranchi, fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar may replace Shami. With changes in the Indian line-up for the Mohali day/night match, a couple of players will be provided an opportunity to play before the India team is finalised for the World Cup.

Chances of Kannaur Lokesh Rahul may figure in the playing XI. He may replace opener Shikhar Dhawan. The ball is expected to coming onto the bat at a good pace and height on the flat pitch of the PCA Stadium.

Meanwhile, the victory at Ranchi might be infused more confidence into the Australian team which will go all out to level the series 2-2 before the final ODI in Delhi. Australian skipper Aaron Finch regaining his form is also an encouraging sign for the visitors. Australia also expect improved performance from Shaun Marsh and Peter in the middle-order.

Australian bowlers Pat Cummins and Adam Zampa have so far captured seven wickets each. They are the Australian leading bowlers in the series. India has so far contested 15 one-day internationals in Mohali (Punjab). They have won 10 and suffered five defeats.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Ambati Rayudu, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Kedar Jadhav, Vijay Shankar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja

Australia: Aaron Finch (c), Alex Carey, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa, Andrew Tye