Railway emerge senior nat’l men hockey champs

Railway emerge senior nat’l men hockey champs

Agency News

Gwalior, Feb 10: The Railway Sports Promotion Board led by Chinglensana Singh Kangujam came up with a scintillating performance to dethrone defending champions Punjab with a 3-2 win in the final of the 9th Hockey India senior national men hockey championship 2019 here on Sunday.

It was defending champions who made the first breakthrough Rupinder Pal Singh in 23rd minute to take 1-0 lead.

However, the third quarter belonged to Harsahib Singh who scored two crucial field goals in the 35th and 43rd minute.

In the fourth quarter Dilpreet Singh scored an important goal in the 57th minute to take Railway Sports Promotion Board lead to 3-1.

Though Ramandeep Singh finally converted a shot on goal after several attempts through the match in the 60th minute, it was not enough to snatch the victory from Railway Sports Promotion Board.

In the bronze medal match, Petroleum Sports Promotion Board beat Punjab & Sind Bank 4-1. Talwinder Singh (8'), Devinder Walmiki (13'), Harmanpreet Singh (49') and Mandeep Singh (57') scored for the winners while Gaganpreet Singh (51') scored for Punjab & Sind Bank. (UNI)