New Zealand name squad for T20I series against India

New Zealand name squad for T20I series against India

Agency News

Auckland, Jan 30: New Zealand announced the Twenty20 International squad for the three-match series against India on Wednesday, where Kane Williamson, the New Zealand captain, returns to the squad, having missed the one-off T20I against Sri Lanka.

Doug Bracewell has also been retained in the squad, having been brought in as a replacement for the injured Jimmy Neesham in the Sri Lanka T20I, but Henry Nicholls finds no place in the 14-man squad.

There were two new faces, though. Daryl Mitchell, the all-rounder, and Blair Tickner, the paceman, earned their maiden New Zealand call-ups after strong performances in the Super Smash, New Zealand’s domestic T20 league.

Mitchell scored a 23-ball 61 for Northern Knights against Central Stags and was in solid form for New Zealand A in one-day cricket. Tickner, meanwhile, will join the squad for the final T20I as replacement for Lockie Ferguson, who is in contention for the first two matches.

“Both Daryl and Blair have been rewarded for the strong form they’ve produced in domestic cricket,” said Gavin Larsen, the New Zealand selector. “They’ve been there or thereabouts for most of the season and both featured in our NZ A short-format teams.

“Daryl has shown his value with the bat and also tends to bowl at some tough times for the Knights, and Blair is well-respected among his team-mates and opponents alike as someone who bowls a heavy ball at good pace,” Larsen added.

The three-match series will begin in Wellington on 6 February, and will be double-headers alongside women’s matches between the two sides on the same pitch.

Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson (games 1 & 2), Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner (game 3). (UNI)