4th Test Day 3: Australia 236/6 at tea, trail India by 386 runs

4th Test Day 3: Australia 236/6 at tea, trail India by 386 runs

Agency News

Sydney, Jan 5: The sixth wicket partnership between Pat Cummins (25) and Peter Handscomb (28) helped Australia to extend the resistance one more day as the host were 236/6 at the end of the third day of the fourth and final Test on Saturday.

Kuldeep Yadav took 3 wickets while Ravindra Jadeja claimed two wickets and restricted the hosts to 236/6. Australia is trailing India by 386 runs behind their first innings total.

The last wicket lost for Australia was that of Captain Tim Paine who was clean bowled by Kuldeep Yadav. Though Australia got off to a good start, but lost their momentum and India took complete control by the end of the first two sessions.

In the post-lunch session, Ravindra Jadeja took two wickets in Marcus Harris (79) and Shaum Marsh (8). Kuldeep Yadav, who dismissed the opener Usman Khawaja in morning, struck again just before the tea-break to get Travis Head (20). Meanwhile, pacer Mohammed Shami also dismissed Australia's new number three batsman Marnus Labuschagne (38).

Earlier, Australia were 122/1 at lunch, trailing India by 500 runs. The four-match Test series is currently led 2-1 by India, who are eyeing their first ever Test series triumph in Australia.

On Friday, India declared their first innings on 622/7, which was second highest total in Australia, the hosts played cautiously and ended up with no loss on the second day. Australia trailed India by 598 Runs.

Marcus Harris (19*) and Usman Khawaja (5*) were at the crease. Ravindra Jadeja (81 runs) missed out on a Test century as he lost his wicket to Nathan Lyon.

For Australia, spinner Nathan Lyon was the only wicket-taking bowler on day two, as he claimed three wickets in Hanuma Vihari (42), Cheteshwar Pujara (193) and Ravindra Jadeja (81).

Pujara also missed out on double-hundred as he was dismissed by Nathan Lyon on a score of 193. Cheteshwar Pujara with 521 runs also leads the chart of top run-scorers in the 2018 Border-Gavaskar Trophy, while captain Virat Kohli is second on the list with 282 runs.UNI