Justin Langer hopes Tim Paine will lead from the front

Justin Langer hopes Tim Paine will lead from the front

Agency News

Canberra Dec 11 : After losing to India at Adelaide Oval by 31 runs Australian team is preparing to posing a tough challenge to the visitors and for that captain Tim Paine will lead from the front in the Second test at Perth from December 14.

Australian Head Coach Justin Langer announced that the team will get a boost with inclusion of Tim Paine in the second Test of the four-match series which India is leading by 1-0.

According to Cricket Australia, Langer has declared captain Tim Paine a certain starter for the second Test despite the skipper's injury scare on Monday. Paine was struck on his right index finger while batting in the 31-run loss in Adelaide.It is the same finger Paine has needed seven operations on over seven years.

The coach heaped praise on the Aussie captain, while talking to Cricket Australia's official website, he said, ''Painey (Tim Paine) is the toughest pretty boy I've ever met in my life. Even if it was snapped in about four places he'd still be right. He's absolutely fine.''

"He's obviously had issues with it before but he is 100 per cent ready to go,'' the former Australia Test opener added. Langer also praised the fighting spirit of the hosts team displayed in the first Test, but said they needed to build bigger batting partnerships.

The 50-run partnership between Pat Cummins and Travis Head in the first innings was Australia's biggest of the match. Australia are expected to field the same XI for the second Test against India.

Langer said pace trio Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, and Josh Hazlewood all pulled up really well, and that veteran Peter Siddle would be on standby merely as a precaution.

India squad: Virat Kohli (c), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wk), Parthiv Patel (wk), Ravi Ashwin, Ravi Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Australia squad: Tim Paine (c, wk), Josh Hazlewood (vc), Mitch Marsh (vc), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Chris Tremain.(UNI)