Col C K Nayudu Trophy: Punjab take 98-run first inning lead against Saurashtra

Col C K Nayudu Trophy: Punjab take 98-run first inning lead against Saurashtra

Agency News

Chandigarh, Dec 1: After dismissing Saurashtra for 167 on the first day, Punjab went on to score 265 in 96.2 overs before being bowled out, taking a lead of 98 runs in the first inning in the Col CK Nayudu Trophy being played at Dhruv Pandove Stadium in Patiala on Saturday.

Resuming at overnight score 95 for 2, Punjab lost their third wicket for addition of 7 runs to the overnight score when Ramandeep Singh was caught by Yash Parikh off Vivek Agath after adding 4 runs to his overnight total of 39.

He was out for 43 off 65 balls inclusive of 9 boundaries. Ramandeep’s departure brought in the bowling hero of Punjab Akul Pandove to the crease.

Punjab soon lost their other opener Shivam Bhambri when he was trapped in front by Parath Bhut for 39 off 103 balls inclusive of 5 boundaries with Punjab total reading 108 for 4 in 38.2 overs.

Parath Bhut struck again in the same over when he castled Nikhil Chaudhary before the batsman could trouble the scorer and half the Punjab side was back in the pavillion for 108. At this stage skipper Anmol Malhotra joined Akul Pandove and the duo started retrieving the position for Punjab.

They batted with caution and application and in the process added 60 runs for the sixth wicket in 24 overs before Anmol Malhotra was caught by substitute fielder of the bowling of Pranav Karia for 33 off 76 balls inclusive of 3 boundaries.

This sixth wicket partnership took the score past the Saurashtra score of 167.

The dismissal of Anmol Malhotra brought Ikjot Thind to the crease and he in partnership with Akul Pandove added 20 runs for the 7th wicket before Ikjot Thind was bowled by Pranav Karia for 10 off 44 balls inclusive of 2 boundaries.

Harpreet Brar then in company of Akul Pandove added 42 runs for the 8th wicket before Harpreet Brar became Pranav Karia’s third victim being caught by Samarath Vyas for 31 off 45 balls with 3 boundaries and 1 six. Akul Pandove who had been batting sedately also left at the same score of 230 when he was caught by Manvinder Mehta off Parth Bhutt for 47 off 184 balls inclusive of 5 boundaries.

Jass Inder Singh and Arshdeep Singh then added 35 runs for the 10th wicket before Jass Inder was caught by Brijesh Lakaria of Pranav Karia for 14 off 12 balls inclusive of 3 boundaries. Arshdeep remained unbeaten on 16 off 9 balls with 1 boundary and two sixes.

Punjab were eventually bowled out for 265 in 96.2 overs. The bowling honours for Saurashtra were shared by Parath Bhutt 5 for 94, Pranav Karia 4 for 50 and Vivek Agath 1 for 48. Trailing by 98 runs on the first innings Saurashtra opened with Yash Parikh and Kevin Jivarajani and knocked off 60 runs without being separated in 32 overs.

Yash Parikh was unbeaten on 27 off 92 balls with 4 boundaries while Kevin Jivarajani remained unbeaten on 28 off 100 balls inclusive of 3 boundaries and one six. Punjab skipper tried five bowlers for a break through but could not get through the Saurashtra defences. (UNI)