Indian team against Windies announced; Dhawan dropped

Indian team against Windies announced; Dhawan dropped


Kolkata, Sep 30: The All-India Senior Selection Committee of Board of Control for Cricket In India (BCCI) on Saturday picked the15-strong squad for the upcoming two-match Paytm Test series against Windies.

Shikhar Dhawan was dropped from the Indian team after his poor run in England while Mayank Agarwal and Mohammed Siraj's achievements in the domestic circuit were rewarded with maiden India call-up. The omission of Dhawan despite his good performance in Asia Cup came as a surprise. The selectors decided to rest the pace duo of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah, taking into account their "recent workload". Instead, pace bowling department will lead by Mohammad Shami, the only experienced player in the Virat Kohli-led 15-member squad.

The first Test will be played at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot from October 4-8, 2018 followed by the second Test at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad from October 12-16, 2018.

Indian Squad for the Windies Tests: Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur

Taking stock of the recent workload, the selectors have decided to rest Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Both Ishant Sharma and Hardik Pandya were not considered for selection, as they are yet to recover from their injuries. (PenNews with input from UNI)