Rohit Sharma’s ton helps India clinch T20 series against England

Rohit Sharma’s ton helps India clinch T20 series against England

Agency News

Rohit Sharma's unbeaten century and Hardik Pandya’s all-around performance have guided India to beat England by seven wickets to win Twenty20 three-match series (2-1).

India chasing a winning score of 199 could reach its destination with eight more balls to remain. Rohit Sharma’s blistering 100 off 56 balls helped India to quickly brought Indian to victory. Hardik Pandya’s 33 off 14 balls also helped India’s march to a solid win. India lost Shikhar Dhawan’s wicket in the third over. But Rahul and Virat Kohli chipped in along with Rohit. Virat slammed 43 off 29 balls.

As a bowler, Hardik Pandya also turned into a nightmare for English batsmen, taking four crucial wickets. Earlier, India wins the toss and elected to field putting England to bat. Openers Jason Roy 59 (26) and Buttler 34 (21) started the England innings with a quickfire run as the duo added 94 runs for their first wicket partnership which helped England to amass 198/9 against India. But Buttler was the first to go as Siddarth Kaul took his wicket in the 8th over. Buttler's 34 came off in 21 balls with 7 fours.

After Buttler's departure, it was Roy who lost his wicket to Deepak Chahar making his first international debut scalping crucial wicket of Roy who was non-stoppable. Roy blasted 67 off 31 with 4 fours and 7 sixes. For the third wicket partnership, skipper Morgan 6 (9) and Hales 23 (16) added 31 runs. But in the 14th over Morgan and Hales were sent back to the Pavillion. Hales 30 off 24 hit three fours and two sixes after being bowled by Hardik Pandya while Morgan fell cheaply at a score of 6 in 9 balls to Pandya.

After that Stokes 14, and Bairstow 25 both fell in 18th over while Willey scored 1 and lost his wicket to Umesh Yadav in 19th over. Then, Plunkett 9 and Jordan in last over. Jordan was run out while Plunkett was bowled by Siddarth Kaul.

For India, it was Hardik Pandya taking 4 wickets, Siddarth Kaul 2 and Umesh Yadav and Deepak Chahar one each. (UNI)