Rajasthan Patrika chairman gets Raja Ram Mohan Roy award

Rajasthan Patrika chairman gets Raja Ram Mohan Roy award

Agency News

New Delhi, Nov 6: The Chairman of the Rajasthan Patrika Gulab Kothari was on Wednesday declared as the winner of Raja Ram Mohan Roy award for excellence in journalism.

Mr Kothari was selected for the prestigious award by the Press Council of India for his outstanding contribution in the field of journalism.

The PCI also declared the winners of the National Awards for Excellence in Journalism 2019.

Sanjay Saini, the correspondent of Dainik Bhaskar, Mandi, Himachal Pradesh, and Raj Chengappa, the Group editorial director(publishing) India Today in Noida, have been jointly given the award in the category of Rural journalism for their articles on rural distress.

Shiv Swaroop Awasthi, senior reporter of Dainik Jagran, and Anu Abrahim, sub-editor matrubhoomi, Calicut, has been jointly selected in the category of ‘Developmental Reporting’ for their series of articles respectively published from July-Aug 2018 and ‘Arogya Keralam learning Not’ (About the Nipah outbreak in Kerala) in June.

The award under the category of ‘Photo Journalism – Single News Picture’ has gone to P G Unnikrishnan, senior photographer, Mathrubhumi, New Delhi for the photo published with caption, “Hon’ble Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Canadian counterpart Justin Trudeau at Rashtrapati Bhavan during ceremonial reception to the latter. Hon’ble Prime Minister Modi, fondly touches younger son of Justin Trudeau” .

He shared the award with Akhil E S, news photographer, Mathrubhumi, for the photograph published with caption, “They had no aversion to splashing of mud on their clothes and they enjoy this spot as anything else mud football”.

Sipra Das, Consulting Editor (Photograph), India Empire Magazine and Parliamentarian Magazine, Delhi has been selected in the category of ‘PhotoJournalism- Photo Feature” for the published photographic illustration under the caption “Sahil’s journey with AIDS”.

Saurabh Duggal, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh has been selected in the “Sports Reporting’ for the article published under the caption ‘Rugby gives wings to tribal girls from impoverished villages”.

Ruby Sarkar, Special Correspondent, Deshabandhu, Bhopal and Anuradha Mascarenhas, Senior Editor, The Indian Express, Pune have been jointly awarded in the newly introduced award category of ‘Gender based reporting” for their respective articles captioned.’Mithila Ki Himmat Se Atmanirbhar Hua Sarikhera gaon’and “Locals at Araku valley help reach out to tribal women, ensure zero maternal deaths in the last two years”.

Krishan Kaushik and Sandeep Singh, working with the Indian Express have been selected in the newly introduced award category of ‘Financial Reporting’ for their joint series of articles on “ICICI: CEO Chanda Chochhar; Videocon gets rupees 3,250 cr Loan from ICICI Bank CEO’s husband gets sweet deal from Venugopal Doodh; Chanda Kocher’s brother-in law advised ICICI borrowers on their foreign loans”.

This year, no entry could qualify, under the category of award, “the Best Newspapers Art: Covering, Cartoons, Caricatures and Illustration”. The awardees will be honoured on November 16 by the PCI on the occasion of the National Press Day celebration. (UNI)