Odisha, Sikkim, Mizoram included in One Nation One Ration Card scheme

Odisha, Sikkim, Mizoram included in One Nation One Ration Card scheme

Agency News

New Delhi, Jun 1 : Union Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution Ram Vilas Paswan on Monday announced the inclusion of three more states namely - Odisha, Sikkim and Mizoram in the scheme on ‘Integrated Management of Public Distribution System’ (IM-PDS).

Under this system nation-wide portability of the benefits under NFSA through 'One Nation One Ration Card' plan is implemented to enable the NFSA ration card holders to lift their entitled quota of subsidised foodgrains from any ePoS enabled FPS of their choice anywhere in the country, by using the existing/same ration card after Aadhaar authentication on ePoS device.

The facility so far is enabled in 17 States/UTs, namely – Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Kerala, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Punjab, Telangana, Tripura and Uttar Pradesh.

Further, constant efforts are being made by this Department of Food & Public Distribution to expand the reach of national portability to the beneficiaries of other states and UTs also in association with respective state or UT governments. In this endeavour, necessary preparatory activities to integrate these three new states with the national cluster viz upgradation of ePoS software, integration with central IM-PDS and Annavitran portals, availability of ration cards or beneficiaries data in Central Repository, requisite testing of national portability transactions has also been completed with the support of central NIC team. After completing all these arrangements, the national or inter-State portability transactions under ‘One Nation One Ration Card’ plan has been enabled in these states from June. By August, Uttarakhand, Nagaland and Manipur will also be added to the national cluster.

Department is doing all necessary arrangements to include remaining all 13 states- West Bengal, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Delhi, J&K, Ladakh, Chandigarh, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu, Chhattisgarh, Andaman & Nicobar and Lakshadweep island to the national cluster. It is confirmed that by March 31, 2021 all states will be added to One Nation One Ration Card scheme and the scheme will be operational all over India. More (UNI)