Cyclone Amphan : No Shramik Special in six Odisha destinations till May 21

Cyclone Amphan : No Shramik Special in six Odisha destinations till May 21

Agency News

Bhubaneswar, May 19 : On the advice of the Odisha government, the East Coast Railway (ECoR) has temporarily suspended the running of Shramik Special trains to six destinations in the state till May 21, likely to be affected by the cyclonic storm Amphan.

A senior ECoR official said the state government had requested the Railways ministry not to run the Shramik Special to some destinations in Odisha in view of the Cyclone Amphan in the Bay of Bengal likely to cause heavy rains and high intensity wind in the north and coastal districts from May 18 to May 20. Considering the request of the state government Shramik Special will not run up to Jagannathpur, Khurda Road, Nirgundi, Jajpur, Bhadrak and Balasore stations till May 21.

However, the Shramik specials will run to other places in the state where the cyclonic Storm Amphan will have no impact or less impact. ECoR sources said till May 18 as many as 60 Odisha bound ShramiK Specials have arrived in the state carrying the stranded Odia people from various parts of the country. Four Shramik Specials have already left for Odisha yesterday, three of them will arrive in Bolangir in Western Odisha and one in Balasore in North Odisha.

The state government has already alerted 12 coastal districts as the cyclonic storm Amphan is likely to trigger heavy rains accompanied with high wind speed. At least four districts such as Balasore, Bhadrak, Jagatsinghpur and Kendrapara are put on high alert as these four districts on the coast are likely to be worst affected in the cyclonic storm Amphan. The Cyclone Amphan has already intensified into Super cyclone and likely to have landfall near Sundarban in West Bengal or in between Sagar island in West Bengal and Hatiya island in Bangladesh on May 20 next.

In view of the cyclone forecast, the ECoR has diverted the Bhubaneswar-New Delhi – Bhubaneswar AC Special via Angul-Jharsuguda-Rourkela-Tata route bypassing Bhubaneswar- Hijli(Kharagpur) route for four days. Similarly, Shramik Special train will not be allowed to run in Bhadrak-Kharagpur route and the parcel and freight trains might be diverted via Sambalpur- Jharsuguda route, ECoR sources said. (UNI)