Final phase of notification in Odisha issued for 6 LS and 42 Assembly seats

Final phase of notification in Odisha issued for 6 LS and 42 Assembly seats

Agency News

Bhubaneswar, Apr 02 : Notification for elections to six Lok Sabha and 42 Assembly seats in the fourth and final phase of polls in Odisha was issued today by the chief electoral officer (CEO).

As per the notification filing of nomination commenced for the six Lok Sabha seats in Mayurbhanj (ST), Balasore (General), Bhadrak (SC), Jajpur (SC), Kendrapara (General) and Jagatsinghpur (SC) and 42 Assembly seats coming under these constituencies.

The filing of nominations will continue till April 9 and the scrutiny of nomination will be done on April 5 while the withdrawal of the nomination is slated for April 12 and elections will be held on April 29.

Although the notification for the fourth and final phase for Odisha was issued this morning yet the three major political parties-- the ruling BJD, Congress and BJP are yet to announce their full candidates lists for all the 21 Lok Sabha and 147 Assembly seats.

The ruling BJD is yet to announce its candidate for Dhenkanal and Keonjhar Lok Sabha seats. Similarly, the Congress has not yet nominated the candidates for Cuttack, Jajpur and Mayurbhanj Lok Sabha seats and the BJP is left with only the Jagatsinghpur Lok Sabha seats.

In the 147 member Assembly , the BJD had so far declared candidates in 135 seats, the BJP has announced its candidates in 141 assembly seats and the Congress is yet to finalise its candidates in another 33 assembly seats. (UNI)