Nine states and UTs corona-free

Nine states and UTs corona-free

Agency News

As India continues to witness an alarming surge in coronavirus infections and fatalities, there are at least nine states and Union Territories (UT) that have successfully fought off the disease and are now free from it. Remarkably, more than half of these coronavirus-free states are in the NorthEast region.

According to the data released by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep, Nagaland and Sikkim are yet to report a single case.

Meanwhile, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Manipur and Mizoram have successfully treated all of their respective COVID-19 patients without recording any fatalities.