20 MLAs resign from MP assembly

20 MLAs resign from MP assembly

Agency News

20 Congress MLAs have sent their resignations to the Governor of Madhya Pradesh. While 19 MLAs are those who currently lodged in Bengaluru, one is from Bhopal.

As of this morning Chief Minister Kamal Nath's government had 120 MLAs - just four over the majority mark of 116 in the 230-member Assembly. If the resignation of the 20 MLAs is accepted, the majority mark will be 106; the BJP will have 107 and the Congress 97.

The rest are held by the Samajwadi Party, the Bahujan Samaj Party and independents.