With 63/70, AAP broom again sweeps Delhi

With 63/70, AAP broom again sweeps Delhi

Agency News

New Delhi, Feb 11 : Arvind Kejriwal is all set to become the Chief Minister of Delhi for the third consecutive term as his Aam Aadmi Party surged to a win in 63 seats in the 70-member Legislative Assembly, counting of votes which was taken up on Tuesday after the elections held on Saturday. Opposition--Bharatiya Janata Party and Indian National Congress--were badly bruised by the AAP juggernaut.

With seven seats, the BJP, just got four seats more than what it had bagged in the last assembly polls. Losing its deposit in 67 out of 70 segments, INC performed miserably yet again as it failed to open its account in the National Capital, once ruled by Sheila Dixit for 15 years. A total of 672 candidates, including 593 men and 79 women, were in the fray, which was widely perceived to be a three-way contest but ended up in an one-horse race. As per Election Commission data, AAP got a whopping 53.64 per cent vote, BJP 38.49 pc while INC 4.37 pc. Only 0.47 pc of voters pressed NOTA (None Of The Above) button.

Delhi voted for better education and medical facilities, free electricity and water supply, which were highlighted by AAP in its campaign rather than national issues---abrogation of Article 370, Citizenship (Amendment) Act and triple talaq---BJP's poll agenda. Raking up anti-Citizenship Amendment Act protest at Shaheen Bagh, failed to be an emotive issue for BJP. INC campaign, which focused on return of the Sheila Dixit era of development, went unheard.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, while addressing his supporters at party's headquarters in National Capital, called the AAP's victory "birth of new kind of politics -- politics of development." "Only those will be elected to power who will provide cheap electricity, Mohalla Clinics and roads to the people," Mr Kejriwal asserted, amid loud cheers. (UNI)