Manish Sisodia wins by 3,000 votes, Atishi also registers win

Manish Sisodia wins by 3,000 votes, Atishi also registers win

Agency News

New Delhi: After hours of close fight with their opponents, finally Aam Aadmi leader and Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia and another leader Atishi Marlena have come away with victory in the Delhi polls.

While Manish Sisodia was in a close contest with his nearest rival, the BJP's Ravinder Singh Negi at Patparganj, Atishi Marlena’s fight at Kalkaji was against BJP rival Dharambir Singh. Both AAP leader were trailing during the early trends. But both Manish Sisodia and Atishi could succeed at the end with a lead of 3,000 votes and more than 11,000 votes.

Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) raced to a huge victory on more than 60 seats, but the party's number two leader, Manish Sisodia, had a tense day in a see-saw battle in his constituency. "Entire Delhi has voted for the work Arvind Kejriwal did for five years. I am happy to represent Patparganj. There may have been flip-flops but I won in the end. I think for the first time in the country, work in the education sector has won an election," he said after his hard-won victory.

After several rounds of counting, Manish was behind his BJP competitor by about 200 votes. But, the turnaround took place a little after 2 pm.

For AAP, Patparganj was one of the most prestigious seats, along with New Delhi. The BJP had won the seat in 1993. After that, it became a Congress stronghold until Mr Sisodia won the seat in 2013 and 2015.

AAP is leading in 62 seats with a 52.4 percent vote share and the BJP is leading on 8 seats with 39.9 percent vote share. The Congress has scored zero in the second consecutive election.