Delhi polls: AAP set to retain power for third consecutive time

Delhi polls: AAP set to retain power for third consecutive time

Agency News

New Delhi, Feb 11 : Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is set to retain power for the third time as it obtained a comfortable lead as counting of votes progressed for the Delhi Assembly polls. The ruling AAP is leading in 58 seats in the 70-member Delhi Assembly, as per Election Commission's trends. While the Opposition BJP is leading in 12 Assembly constituencies.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal is leading from New Delhi Assembly constituency against BJP's Sunil Kumar Yadav. To everyone's surprise, Deputy CM Manish Sisodia, who also holds education department, was trailing by 556 votes against BJP leader Ravinder Singh Negi from Patparganj Assembly constituency. Atishi is leading by 656 votes from Kalkaji Assembly constituency against the BJP's Dharambir Singh.

AAP sitting MLA Amanatullah Khan is leading with 21,174 votes against BJP's Braham Singh from Okhla. The stir-hit Shaheen Bagh area falls under the constituency. Since December 15, the women have been protesting at Shaheen Bagh to protest against Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) and National Register of Citizens (NRC). On Monday, the Supreme Court had issued notice to the Centre and Delhi government on the petitions seeking clearance of Shaheen Bagh, Kalindi Kunj road where anti-CAA protests have been going on for over 55 days, saying it would hear the matter on February 17.

Delhi Transport Minister Kailash Gahlot is leading with 1,833 votes against BJP's candidate Ajeet Singh Kharkhari from Najafgarh assembly constituency. AAP's Parlad Singh Sawhney, who had switched over from Congress to AAP, is leading with 17908 votes from high-profile Chandni Chowk constituency against his nearest rival Bharatiya Janata Party's Suman Kumar Gupta. The Congress' Alka Lamba, who left AAP to re-join the grand old party, is also trailing.

Former Delhi Minister, Kapil Mishra, who officially parted ways with AAP few months before the polls and joined BJP, is trailing from Model Town Assembly seat against AAP nominee and sitting MLA Akhilesh Pati Tripathi. Senior BJP leader and Leader of the Opposition in the outgoing sixth Assembly Vijender Gupta is leading with 4,392 votes from his Rohini seat against AAP's Mohinder Goyal. (UNI)