Many BJP, Cong leaders file papers on last day for Delhi poll

Many BJP, Cong leaders file papers on last day for Delhi poll

Agency News

New Delhi, Jan 21: Several BJP and Congress leaders on Tuesday filed their nomination papers for the Delhi Assembly elections, scheduled to be held on February 8. BJP candidate Tajinder Pal Singh Bagga filed nomination from Hari Nagar, while Kapil Mishra from Model Town. Tuesday was the last day of filing nominations. Taking to micro-blogging site Twitter, Mr Bagga said,''Filed nomination from Hari Nagar assembly constituency.

Overwhelmed by the love and support, Thank you everyone.'' Mishra said,''Today in the presence of Dr Harsh Vardhan and Vijay Goel, I filed my nomination from the Model Town Assembly. BJP is winning Delhi.'' Congress candidate Abhishek Dutt who filed his nomination from Mehrauli said, ''Filed my nomination at the office of the Sub-Divisional Magistrate, Mehrauli. Yet another milestone in my mission to better the lives of the people of Kasturba Nagar constituency.''

Congress candidate Mukesh Sharma who filed his nomination from Vikaspuri said, ''As Congress candidate from the Vikaspuri assembly today, I took out the 'Ashirwad Rally' and filed my nomination and received huge public support. I heartily thank all my colleagues for this immense love and support.'' Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee (DPCC) president Subhash Chopra's daughter Shivani Chopra filed the nomination papers from Kalkaji Assembly; Hari Kishan Jindal from Wazirpur Assembly, DPCC working president Devender Yadav from Badli Assembly, Ali Mehndi from Mustafabad Assembly, Chaudhary Mateen Ahmed from Seelampur, Gaurav Dhanak from Karol Bagh Assembly, and INC media coordinator Radhika Khera from Janakpuri.

The Jannayak Janata Party (JJP), which is in alliance with the BJP in Haryana, had earlier announced that it will contest the Delhi polls, but Haryana Deputy Chief Minister and party chief Dushyant Chautala today said that JJP will not contest Delhi Assembly elections. The ruling Aam Admi Party, BJP and Congress have all fielded their strongest candidates.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will once again contest the election from the New Delhi constituency against Sunil Yadav of the BJP and Romesh Sabharwal of the Congress. The counting will take place on February 11. (UNI)