Nadda files nomination for BJP chief post; Amit Shah to get his successor

Nadda files nomination for BJP chief post; Amit Shah to get his successor

Agency News

New Delhi, Jan 20: Top BJP leaders have arrived at the BJP headquarters to file nominations in support of JP Nadda on Tuesday. Earlier, JP Nadda has filed nomination for the BJP’s coveted post.

A formal announcement regarding Nadda's election as president will be made in the afternoon and Prime Minister Narendra Modi will also arrive at the party headquarters to felicitate him. It is learnt that JP Nadda is expected to be elected to the post unopposed. Jagat Prakash Nadda will become the 11th national president of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Amit Shah.

Born on December 2, 1960 to Narain Lall Nadda and Krishna Nadda, Jagat Prakash was educated at St Xavier's School, Patna. Thereafter he did his BA from Patna College, Patna University and LLB from Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla. Sources said a number of senior leaders including from states and newly elected state unit chiefs are likely to file the nomination papers in support of 59-year old Mr Nadda. Mr Shah and another former party chief Nitin Gadkari are also likely to file nomination papers in favour of Mr Nadda.

Under Mr Shah between 2014 and 2019, the BJP has grown as an organisation at various levels especially in states where it had hardly any presence previously. The list of states where BJP has able to make its presence felt and also capture power include Tripura - once a Leftist bastion. Similarly, the saffron party has emerged as a serious challenger to Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress in West Bengal. Mr Nadda's taking over the affairs of the party comes days before BJP faces a stiff electoral battle against AAP in Delhi wherein it is struggling to get back to power since the last 22 years. At the age of 50 when elected as party chief, Amit Shah was the youngest to occupy the post in 2014.

List of BJP's presidents include : Atal Bihari Vajpayee (first after formation of the party in 1980), L K Advani (three terms), Murli Manohor Joshi, Kushabhau Thakre, Bangaru Laxman (first Dalit BJP chief), Jana Krishnamurthi, M Venkaiah Naidu, Rajnath Singh (two terms), Nitin Gadkari and Amit Shah. In June 2019, J P Nadda was appointed as the working president - first time in the party - as a prelude to his election as the new organisational head of the saffron party. Known for his amiable personality, Nadda is seen as the choice of both Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Mr Shah for the job. (UNI)