JP Nadda elected as BJP’s National President

JP Nadda elected as BJP’s National President

Agency News

BJP working President Jagat Prakash Nadda on Monday has been officially elected as the National president of the party to take over the reins of the BJP from Amit Shah.

Mr Nadda's name was proposed by ex-chiefs and parliamentary board members Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari. Nadda was elected unopposed. Senior BJP leader Radha Mohan Singh had announced the schedule after the party's internal poll exercise was completed in 21 of the BJP's 36 state and Union territory units.

Singh, in a statement, had said: "After successfully conducting Phase 1 of the BJP enrolment and expansion drive, creating 75 per cent booth committees, 50 per cent Mandal committees and holding election as per BJP's constitution in 21 states to elect party presidents, I am pleased to announce the elections for the post of National president of the BJP.”

The BJP's constitution stipulates that its national president can be elected after at least half of the total state units have completed their organizational election exercise. Nadda's decades-long experience in the organisation, starting from student politics, proximity to the RSS and clean image are seen as his strengths.

The election of a new president brings to end incumbent Shah's tenure of over five-and-a-half years during which the BJP expanded its footprints across the country like never before and enjoyed its best phase in electoral contests despite suffering a few setbacks in state polls.

Under Amit Shah, the party soared to incredible highs, winning back-to-back elections, in 2014 and 2019. Over the past year, the party has suffered reverses in states like Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan.

As he steps into Mr Shah's shoes, Mr Nadda has the difficult task of delivering Delhi and then Bihar, where it is in power with ally Nitish Kumar. The party is also trying to expand its base in Mamata Banerjee-ruled Bengal, which will vote in 2021.