Uddhav invites Modi for swearing-in

Uddhav invites Modi for swearing-in


The Shiv Sena leader, Mr. Uddhav Thackeray, who will take oath as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra on Thursday, has invited the Prime Minister, Mr. Narendra Modi for the swearing-in ceremony. He called Mr. Modi over the phone and invited him for the oath-taking ceremony.

Meanwhile, other members of the high-profile guest list include Congress interim president, Mrs. Sonia Gandhi, the former prime minister, Dr. Manmohan Singh, the West Bengal Chief Minister, Ms. Mamata Banerjee, the Delhi CM, Mr. Arvind Kejriwal,and the DMK chief, Mr. MK Stalin.

The Chief Ministers of Madhya Pradesh, Mr. Kamal Nath, and Chhattisgarh's Mr. Bhupesh Baghel has confirmed their participation. According to reports, the non-political guest list includes actors Amitabh Bachchan, Salman Khan, Akshay Kumar, Anil Kapoor besides industrialists Ratan Tata and Mukesh Ambani.

The party has also sent invites to 700 farmers even as the total guests list touches 40,000. In a dramatic turn of events which unfolded after the Supreme Court's verdict on Tuesday, wherein it asked the Governor's office to conduct a floor test for the BJP-led government, Shiv Sena-Congress-NCP formed a government in the state.

Thackeray, the leader of the newly-formed Maha Vikas Aghadi, an alliance between the three parties will take oath at the Shivaji Park grounds. He is the first Thackeray to be sworn-in as CM and the third from his party to become Maharashtra's Chief Minister. Though Mr. Manohar Joshi and Mr. Narayan Rane were Chief Ministers from Shiv Sena, they were not from Thackeray family, the first family of Bal Thackeray who found Shiv Sena.

The 59-year-old Mr. Thackeray is a published author and the editor of Sena's mouthpiece Saamana.