Lok Sabha adjourned for the day; 4 Bills introduced

Lok Sabha adjourned for the day; 4 Bills introduced

Agency News

New Delhi, Nov 25 : Lok Sabha was adjourned for a day on Monday after ruckus by Congress and other main Opposition parties over issue of ongoing political developments in Maharashtra.

As soon as the House reassembled after the second adjournment, Opposition members from Congress and DMK entered the well of the House and raised slogans. AITC members also raised issue from the seats.

Amid continuous uproar, papers were laid on the table and four Bills--The Taxation Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2019, The International Financial Services Centres Authority Bill, 2019, The Recycling of Ships Bill, 2019 and The Special Protection Group (Amendment) Bill, 2019 were introduced in the House.

As the uproar continued in the House, Meenakshi Lekhi, who was in the Chair, immediately adjourned the House till 2pm Tuesday. Earlier, the House was adjourned for the second time till 2pm on Monday over the issue.

As soon as the House assembled after the first adjournment at 12 Noon, Rajendra Agarwal, who was in the Chair, said the House was adjourned till 2pm. The opposition members, including the Congress, did not get any opportunity to protest over the political crisis taking place over government formation in Maharashtra. Earlier, during the Question Hour, Congress members entered the Well and showed placards that said 'Stop Horse Trading Stop Dirty Politics' and 'Save Constitution Save Democracy'.

Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla first warned two Congress Members -- Hibi Eden and T N Prathapan -- who stood in the Well and held a huge placard saying 'Stop murder of democracy'. Mr Birla asked them to remove the placard and on their refusal to do so, he was forced to order the marshals to remove both the Congress members from the House. The two Congress members indulged in a clash with the marshals and massive protests by Congress members continued. The Speaker was forced to adjourn the House till 12 Noon.

The Supreme Court on Monday said it will pass its order at 1030 hrs on Tuesday on the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress combine’s plea against Maharashtra Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari ’s decision to swear in Mr Devendra Fadnavis as the Chief Minister of the State.

In a surprising twist in Maharashtra government formation, Mr Fadnavis on Saturday morning took oath as Maharashtra CM for the second consecutive term and NCP's Ajit Pawar as his deputy. Congress, NCP and Shiv Sena had reached consensus on Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray becoming Chief Minister. (UNI)