Devendra Fadnavis sworn in as Maharashtra CM, Ajit Pawar Dy CM

Devendra Fadnavis sworn in as Maharashtra CM, Ajit Pawar Dy CM

Agency News

After a midnight drama, BJP leader and former Chief Minister, Devendra Fadnavis was sworn in as the Maharashtra Chief Minister on Saturday morning. With this the Shiv Sena’s dream shattered to came to power in Maharashtra with a Thackeray CM.

The BJP-led new government has been realized with the backing of a group of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), under the leadership of Ajit Pawar, who is also the nephew of NCP chief Sharad Pawar.

Ajit Pawar has also taken oath as the Deputy Chief Minister of Maharashtra. A couple of hours before the new Ministry’s sworn-in ceremony, President rule was withdrawn in Maharashtra.

Minutes after Fadnavis and Pawar were sworn in, Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Fadnavis and Pawar and said he was "confident they will work diligently for the bright future of Maharashtra".

Earlier, the entire country believed that Uddhav Thackeray will become the new Chief Minister of Maharashtra as a representative of Shiv Sena-Congress and NCP alliance. NCP leader Sharad Pawar also announced the name of Uddhav Thackeray as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra for all five years.

Earlier, Ajit Pawar on Friday evening said all three members of a new prospective governing alliance -- between the NCP, the Shiv Sena and the Congress -- wanted Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray in the chief minister's job.

But later, Ajit Pawar said he reached his decision to join hands with the BJP on his own. But it is said that the Ajit Pawar will have the blessings of Sharad Pawar.