Boundaries of J&K, Ladakh demarcated

Boundaries of J&K, Ladakh demarcated

Agency News

New Delhi, Nov 2: Centre on Saturday issued notification in the Gazette of India specifying the boundaries of the newly created two Union Territories of the Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh, giving a new Political map of India.

The two UTs, bifurcation of the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir, came into existence from October 31. According to Gazette notification, the UT of Ladakh will comprise the territories of Kargil and Leh districts, while all the other districts of the erstwhile state will fall under the UT of Jammu and Kashmir. India now has 28 states and nine Union Territories.

In 1947, the former State of Jammu and Kashmir had the following 14 districts - Kathua, Jammu, Udhampur, Reasi, Anantnag, Baramulla, Poonch, Mirpur, Muzaffarabad, Leh and Ladakh, Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas and Tribal Territory. By 2019, the State Government of former Jammu and Kashmir had reorganized the areas of these 14 districts into 28 districts. The names of the new districts are as follows - Kupwara, Bandipur, Ganderbal, Srinagar, Budgam, Pulwama, Shupian, Kulgam, Rajouri, Ramban, Doda, Kishtivar, Samba and Kargil.

Out of these, Kargil district was carved out from the area of Leh and Ladakh district. The Leh district of the new Union Territory of Ladakh has been defined in the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization (Removal of Difficulties) Second Order, 2019, issued by the Presient to include the areas of the districts of Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas and Tribal Territory of 1947, in addition to the remaining areas of Leh and Ladakh districts of 1947, after carving out the Kargil District.

The bifurcation of the state also marked the end of President's rule imposed in the undivided Jammu and Kashmir. (UNI)