BJP’s Prabhat Jha RS ethics panel head

BJP’s Prabhat Jha RS ethics panel head

Agency News

New Delhi, Oct 31: Prabhat Jha of BJP is the new chairman of the Ethics Committee of Rajya Sabha, replacing Narayan Lal Panchariya of BJP.

The committee looks into conduct-related complaints against the members of the Upper House, the Rajya Sabha Secretariat said in a statement here.

Prasanna Acharya of BJD has been nominated as the Chairman of the Committee on Petitions, in place of Prabhat Jha of BJP.

Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu has reconstituted eight House committees, effecting changes in the chairmanship of the Committees on Ethics and Petitions, besides replacing several members of various committees.

Naidu has renominated Dr T Subbarami Reddy of Congress as the chairman of the Committee on Subordinate Legislation, A Navaneetha Krishnan as chairman of the Committee on Government Assurances, Om Prakash Mathur of BJP as chairman of the House Committee that allots accommodation for members.

As per the Rules of the House, Chairman of Rajya Sabha heads the Business Advisory Committee and the Committee on Rules. By convention, the Deputy Chairman heads the Committee on Privileges.

The new members of the Business Advisory Committee of Rajya Sabha include BK Hariprasad (Congress), Narayan Lal Panchariya, Dr Vinay P Sahasrabuddhe of BJP and Dr K Keshava Rao of TRS. Leader of the House and Leader of the Opposition are special invitees to BAC.

The new members of the Committee on Rules include Dr Satyanarayan Jatiya, Swapan Das Gupta, YS Chowdary of BJP, PL Punia of Congress, Naresh Gujral of Akali Dal, and Subhash Chandra and Amar Singh, both independents.

The tenure of committees is one year. (UNI)