BJP fields turncoat Gopichand Padalkar in Baramati, issues second list for Haryana

BJP fields turncoat Gopichand Padalkar in Baramati, issues second list for Haryana

Agency News

New Delhi, Oct 2: The BJP on Wednesday late evening released second list of candidates for polls in Maharashtra and Haryana. Gopichand Padalkar, who contested on the Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi ticket from Sangli during the Lok Sabha elections and lost also, finds his name in the BJP's list. He will contest from a renowned Sharad Pawar-bastion Baramati.

Mr Padalkar has been a key leader in the region in Prakash Ambedkar-led Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi party. In the second list for Maharashtra, a key leader Vinod Tawde, power minister Chandrashekar Bawankule and Eknath Khadse's names do not figure in the BJP's second list of 14 candidates.

Namita Mundada, who joined the saffron party after the NCP chief Sharad Pawar announced her candidature from Kej seat, is in the BJP's second list. Congress legislator Gopaldas Agarwal, who also joined the saffron party recently, will be party nominee from Gondia.

In the second list for Haryana, state BJP vice president Mahila Morch Sonali Phogat has been fielded from Adampur. The saffron outfit has released a list of 78 candidates for Haryana on Monday. Pramod Viz will be contesting from Panipat City while the sitting legislator Rohita Rewri has been denied the ticket.

State Minister Rao Narbir Singh has also been denied ticket, according to the party announcement. Nirmal Choudhary has been fielded from Ganaur. Sudhir Singla will be BJP nominee from Gurgaon.

Meena Narwal has been nominated from Kharkhauda while Dudram Bishnoi has been named from Fatehabad seat and Laxman Yadav from Kosli.

Sunil Musepur (Rewari), and Deepak Mangla (Palwal) have also been named in the list. Haryana Chief Manoharlal Khattar will be contesting from Karnal while Maharashtra Chief Minister will be contesting from Nagpur South West.

In the northern state of Haryana, rebellion surfaced in the saffron camp and at least eight ticket aspirants announced their decision to contest against the party nominees. For obvious reasons, Chief Minister Khattar went into damage-control mode, assuring sulking leaders that their interests would be kept in mind. “We will ensure their honour after the elections,” he said. (UNI)