Surprise BJP list; Kummanam kept out, Surendran in Konni

Surprise BJP list; Kummanam kept out, Surendran in Konni


The BJP will go without former Mizoram Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan in the bypoll in Kerala. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by (BJP) on Sunday announced its candidates for the five constituencies for which elections are to be held in Kerala next month.

While Kummanam was tipped to be the candidate from Vattiyoorkavu in Thiruvananthapuram and had been recommended by the party state leadership, a last minute change was made. Instead the seat has been given to S Suresh.

BJP state general secreatary K. Surendran has been retained in the list and will contest in Konni. Raveesha Tantri Kundar will be the candidate in Manjeswaram, KP Prakash Babu in Aroor while C.G Rajagopal in Ernakulam.

The LDF had announced its list on Thursday and UDF yesterday. Vattiyoorkavu was seen by the BJP as a strong seat and Kummanam, who reached the second place in Thiruvananthapuram in the recent Lok Sabha election, was seen as the front-runner for Vattiyoorkavu. Earlier in the day too, he had said the state leadership had recommended his name and he would do as his party demanded.