Bypoll for 15 Karnataka Assembly seats on Dec 5

Bypoll for 15 Karnataka Assembly seats on Dec 5

Agency News

New Delhi, Sept 27: A day after the Supreme Court decided to hear the disqualified MLAs petitions for the final disposal on October 22, the Election Commission on Friday announced fresh dates for bypolls in Karnataka Assembly.

According to the Commission, election for 15 seats will take place on December 5 and the results will be announced on December 9.

The Commission on Thursday told the Supreme Court that it would defer by-elections for 15 Karnataka assembly constituencies till a final disposal of the petitions of the disqualified MLAs.

"We will hear the matter for October 22, when we again hear the case for a final disposal," ruled a three-judge bench, headed by Justice NV Ramana.

The poll body had made an oral submission to defer the bypolls, slated for October 21, as the Supreme Court said it wanted to decide finally the disqualified MLAs petitions against the orders by Speaker Ramesh Kumar, consequent to their toppling the HD Kumaraswamy dispensation in Karnataka.

The Supreme Court had posted further hearing in the case for October 22, when it will decide the fate of these 17 disqualified MLAs of Karnataka.

Earlier the Commission had announced bypolls for 15 seats on October 21 along with assembly elections to Maharashtra and Haryana.

Candidates can file nominations from November 11 to  18 which will be scrutinised the next day and November 21 will be the last date for withdrawal.

The Commission also said, "Nominations filed between September 23 and September 28.... shall also be taken up for scrutiny on November 19 along with other nominations". (UNI)