BJP to observe ‘sewa saptah’ to mark PM’s birthday

BJP to observe ‘sewa saptah’ to mark PM’s birthday

Agency News

New Delhi, Sep 12: The ruling BJP will celebrate Prime Minister Narendra Modi 's birthday on September 17, as 'Sewa Saptah' (service week) across the country.

Addressing reporters here on Thursday, BJP National General Secretary Arun Singh said party president Amit Shah and working president J P Nadda have decided that the birthday of Prime Minister Modi, born on September 17, 1950 at Vadnagar in Gujarat, will be celebrated as a service week.

BJP workers will celebrate the service week across the country from September 14 to September 20, he said.

Mr Modi, who comes from a humble background himself, understands the plight of the poor, and all schemes, including Ayushman Bharat, Ujjwala Yojana and Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojna, are helping the needy, Mr Singh said.

Since, Mr Modi became the Prime Minister, he has been consistently working for the poor of the country, Mr Singh said.

Service to nation and Prime Minister Modi have become synonymous, Mr Singh maintained.

Mr Singh said that Mr Shah and Mr Nadda will kick off the campaign from the AIIMS in Delhi at 0800 hrs and start doing service by distributing fruits among other things.

Three pledge will be taken -- Swatchhta Abhiyaan, stopping usage of single use plastic and conservation of water, the BJP leader pointed out.

He said a big programme has been planned which includes blood donation camps and fruit distribution at orphange by party workers, MPs and MLAs across the country who will visit schools and spread awareness on these important issues.

People will be requested to help out differently abled people in the field of education, he said.

'Prime Minister's life has been an inspiration, and his involvement with social issues has been inspiring the people of the country,' he said.

Based on Prime Minister Modi's life, an exhibition work will be displayed which will inspire the people to speeden up the development works, he said.

Union Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal and national secretaries Sudha Yadav and Sunil Deodhar are also part of the committee made for the purpose, Mr Singh said, adding that committees are made at the level of mandals and districts.

Slogans for the occasion include ' Shudh paryavaran, jal sanchay, jiwan ka ye ho nischay', he added. (UNI)